Tuesday, 16 March 2010

Flying Lotus

Flying Lotus, born Steve Ellison in 1983, is an experimental multi-genre music producer/DJ. Most of his work thus far has come in combining and experimenting with electronic and hip hop music (my perfect blend). This has led to the creation of two original and brilliant albums, '1983' (2006) and 'Los Angeles' (2008), with the 'Reset' EP released in between these two albums (2007).

FlyLo's 3rd album, 'Cosmogramma', is due to be released on May 3, 2010. This album follows on from the previous two in once again experimenting further with the electronic and hip hop genres, and in addition some big names are also featuring on the album, in the form of Thom Yorke and Laura Darlington.

Here's the tracklist for 'Cosmogramma':

1) Clock Catcher
2) Pickled!
3) Nose Art
4) Intro//A Cosmic Drama
5) Zodiac Shit
6) Computer Face//Pure Being
7) ...And The World Laughs With You (feat. Thom Yorke)
8) Arkestry
9) Mmmhmm (feat. Thundercat)
10) Do The Astral Plane
11) Satelllliiiiiteee
12) German Haircut
13) Recoiled
14) Dance Of The Pseudo Nymph
15) Drips//Auntie's Harp
16) Table Tennis (feat. Laura Darlington)
17) Galaxy In Janaki
FlyLo is currently signed to Warp Records, a pioneering independent English record label known for discovering quality experimental artists within the electronic genre. Also signed to Warp is Hudson Mohawke, who like FlyLo shares the same experimentation in combing hip hop and electronic sounds. If you fancy listening to him check out his myspace page (www.myspace.com/hudsonmo) and listen to his album 'Butter' which was released in October 2009.
It has been recently announced that FlyLo will be playing at the Sonar festival in Barcelona on 18th June 2010. He will be headlining the Mary Anne Hobbs stage, accompanied with support from Joy Orbison and Roska (unbelievable line-up!). Over the next couple of months he will also be touring the US, and hopefully we will be seeing more of him in the UK this Autumn. Here's a link to FlyLo's myspace page, www.myspace.com/flyinglotus

No comments:

Post a Comment