Thursday, 7 April 2011

Hessle Audio Presents '116 & Rising'

Hessle Audio will be releasing a label compilation titled '116 & Rising' on the 16th May. The release will feature 2xCD, 3x12" and a digital release, representing past and unreleased materials surrounding the reputable label. Hessle, the imprint co-founded by Ben UFO, Pangaea, and Ramadanman/Pearson Sound, has consistently been one of the strongest on the scene over the couple of years, with the label's 18th release unveiled last week in the form of Peverelist's 'Dance Til The Police Come/Fundamentals'.

The compilation is purely within keeping with the Hessle family, with every producer to release on the label featuring alongside a couple of exclusive guests. The first CD is dedicated to new releases, with 9 coming from artists with previous releases on the imprint. New efforts from Elgato, Pearson Sound, Blawan, and Joe's exquisite 'Twice' excite, and indicate the quality that is behind '116 & Rising'. This is further supported by exclusive releases from Randomer and Addison Groove, the latter whose 'Fuk Tha 101' has been proving a killer in the sets of Loefah and Kennedy.

CD 2 is firmly focused on revisiting the label's previously released 12", exploring the high standards of their ever growing back catalogue. Selecting tracks to construct the CD would have been one hell of a task in itself, but it looks as though Hessle have been well represented here. Ramadanman's 'Don't Change For Me', Martyn's beautiful remix of TRG's 'Broken Heart', and Blawan's 'Fram' provide the strongest, although I could have selected almost every tack to feature on the second CD here. Pure class.

The 3x12" edition of the compilation will be formed of the new releases, presented in artwork created by the excellent Will Bankhead (Trilogy Tapes), who has regularly produced work of an identical quality for Honest Jons and Doldrums. With a tracklist so strong, and artwork so aesthetically pleasing, why wouldn't you purchase the release? 16.05.11. Buy on site material from Hessle as per usual.

'116 & Rising' Tracklist:

01. Elgato – Music (Bodymix)
02. Untold – Cool Story Bro
03. Blawan – Potchla Vee
04. Pearson Sound – Stifle
05. Joe – Twice
06. Randomer – Brunk
07. Pangaea – Run Out
08. Cosmin TRG – Bijoux
09. D1 – Subzero
10. Addison Groove – Fuk Tha 101
11. James Blake – Give A Man A Rod (Second Version)
12. Peverelist – Sun Dance

01. Pangaea – You & I
02. Untold – Test Signal
03. Blawan – Fram
04. James Blake – Buzzard & Kestrel
05. Untold – I Can’t Stop This Feeling
06. Joe – Rut
07. Ramadanman – Blimey
08. TRG – Put You Down
09. Joe – Level Crossing
10. Pangaea – Why
11. TRG – Broken Heart (Martyn’s DCM Remix)
12. Ramadanman – Don’t Change For Me

No comments:

Post a Comment