Sunday, 30 May 2010


Tek-One are a London duo who make a more intelligent brand of in your face dubstep, and one of the few acts who make 'wobble' dubstep that I actually enjoy. The create their sounds out of "anything with AA batteries and a low bit-rate that was built in Taiwan and designed to amuse a young child for 30 seconds". These items include circuit bent children's toys, broken keyboards and short-circuited toy amps. Tek-One acts both as a live show with a full acoustic kit, and also a singular DJ when required at clubs for DJ sets. Their live shows look incredible, with so much energy and heavy sounds as you can in this video by clicking here.

The duo are signed to the Hench label, and only have a couple of releases to their names as of yet. They have released two remixes, Way Out West's 'The Gift' and Bring Me The Horizon's 'Sleep With One Eye Open', as well as their first single 'Broken String'. These releases established their bass heavy brand of dubstep, and the sounds of the equipment used make these tracks instantly recognisable as new and innovative.

On their myspace page, there are also a few unreleased tracks which the duo have produced. The tracks 'Hate You feat. Ruth Cullen', 'Bug' and 'WTF?' all continue this very mainstream wobble sound, but there are a couple of really interesting tracks which suggest their is more intelligence to the duo's work than just bass heavy sounds designed to get the majority of a drunken club moving.

My favourite of their tracks, 'So Good' and in particular 'Wax Poetic', suggest the duo are maybe also attached to the post-dubstep movement, following similar sounds to those created by Joy Orbison, Martyn and 2562. 'Wax Poetic's' wonderfully laid back beat, combined with beautifully place piano chords and soulful looped female vocals make for a great IDM track, work I think they should spend more time on. I'm hoping they'll make more tracks like these, and not just give in to sticking with the heavy sounds that the many dubstep tag-along's only know and therefore want to hear. You can listen to the tracks at

As I mentioned earlier, there live sets are full of energy, their tracks as well as their selections know how to get a crowd going. Below is Tek-One's 'Yellow Cake Mix' which is a great example of what you'll get if you see them live. You can download this mix now at On the 30th September I will be lucky enough to see the guys playing the Lemon Grove in Exeter, something I'm really looking forward to. Check their myspace to see when they're playing in an area near you, I can assure you they have plenty of live dates planned all around the country over the summer.

'Yellow Cake Mix' Tracklist:

1. Tek-One - Hate You
2. Drumsound & Bassline Smith - R U Ready (Dubstep Remix)
3. Misanthrop - Shadow
4. Jakes & Joker - 3K Lane 1999
5. Tek-One - WTF
6. Sirens, Sirens - The Veil (Tek-One Remix)
7. Bar 9 - The Beginning
8. Tek-One & A1 Bassline - Untitled
9. Dire Straits - Money For Nothing (Giant dubstep remix)
10. Plan B - She Said (16bit Remix)
11. PropaTingz - Windscreen Snipa (Lock n Load Remix)
12. The One Hundred - Bring Me Down (Tek-One Laid Back Remix)
13. Bring Me The Horizon - Sleep With One Eye Open (Tek-One Remix)
14. Noisia - Machine Gun (16bit Remix)
15. M.J. Cole - Sincere (Nero Remix)
16. A1 Bassline - The Lane Simple
17. Tek-One - Crazy Mosch
18. Ludacris - How Low (Caspa Remix)
19. Tek-One - Broken String
20. 12th Planet & Juakali - Reasons (Doctor P Remix)
21. Kavsrave & A1 Bassline - Luckier Charms (VIP)
22. Compound One - Perhaps The Darkness
23. Fugative - Supafly (Tek-One Remix)
24. Triage - Non-Fiction
25. Way Out West - The Gift (Tek-One Remix)
26. Instra:mental - Watchin You
27. dBridge - Lost Shadow
28. Breakage - Foundation
29. Equinox - Acid Rain (Breakage Final Chapter VIP)
30. Wu Tang Clan - C.R.E.A.M.

No comments:

Post a Comment